Classical Gas
Discussion Group
Michael's New Blog
Michael's Old Blog
Photo Galleries
Files and Archive
Michael on Twitter
Michael on Facebook

Classical Gas on Facebook



Brands Hatch

Classical Gas is an independent web site and is not affiliated to any of the clubs or organisers of the events featured. Words and Pictures by Michael unless attributed otherwise. Michael is a proud member of the MCC, ACTC, Dellow Register and Falcon amongst others, but does not represent their views nor the views of any other organisers or clubs.


Classic Touring Car Racing Club, CTCRC, meeting at  Snetterton, 21 August 2010, organised by the CTCRC and BARC

Neil second overall in Post Historic with Mark Lucock getting his first overall win. Tim Scott Andrews won both Group 1 races.

It was a packed CTCTC meeting, with seven races, including three double headers, before the 24 hour 2CV race. There was a natural reluctance to do four races in a day so there were few takers to do both Post Historic and Group 1, perhaps one of the reasons for most of the races being poorly supported. The club will have to do some serious thinking if it is to continue with its full program of races next year.

Neil had a full day, with two practices and four races packed between 9am and 3.15pm. Fortunately both the Number two Capri and the Fiesta ran well and he came away with a 4th and 2nd in Post Historic. The Fiesta didn't do so well, running out of puff with 1300cc on this power circuit.

Neil had an uneventful weekend in the No2 Capri and was pleased to get a fourth and second overall.


Full Results


Post Historic Pictures


Group 1 Pictures


People and Cars


Mark Lucock and Nigel Garrett came away with a win apiece in Post Historic.

Post Historic

Wins for Nigel Garrett and Mark Lucock

Mark Lucock won his first CTCRC race Neil was second in race two
William Jenkins finished 2nd in the first race but non-started in the second. Phil Waller challenging Brian Stevens Lotus Cortina.

Race 1

David Howard was on pole, but didn't pull away very quickly, and it was Mark Lucock leading into the first corner in his RS2000. David Howard didn't get much further, pulling off the circuit when his prop shaft came adrift, baulking Brian Stevens (Lotus Cortina Mk1) and Neil Bray (Capri) in the process.

Nigel Garrett had started on the second row in his Dolomite but was soon up behind Mark Lucock and powered past him to take the lead as they crossed the line at the end of the first lap. The Dolomite and RS 2000 were evenly matched, the Dolomite more powerful but out cornered by the RS2000 on the right handers. The two swapped places through much of the race but Nigel used all of his experience and was in the right place when the flag fell.

Behind the leading duo William Jenkins had a lonely race in his BMW 3.0 CSL, now repaired after it's head gadget problems at Lydden that had stemmed from his Brands incident.

Neil had dropped to last after being caught up in David Howards problems, not helped by a lurid spin across the grass exiting Coram on the first lap. He soon composed himself and came through the field to finish 5th at the end.

Race 2

With the various retirements only seven cars came to the grid and that was soon down to six when Nigel Garrett's Dolomite was pushed behind the barriers before the lights went out.

That was the only drama and Mark Lucock made no mistakes to take his first CTCRC victory followed by Neil in second place. The other starters were all in the 1600 class. Brian Stevens headed them home from Phil Waller.

Group 1

Two more wins for Tim Scott-Andrews

Ian Fowler had two good races finishing in front of Neil in the second. Al Weyman and Cliff Ryan treated each other with respect in their dice.
William Jenkins went away with a bent BMW for the third time this year. Nathan Turners Rover was worse the other side and it will be a while before we see it again.

Race 1

There were quite a few non-starters, David Howard had not fixed his Jaguar XJ12 and reigning Group 1 champion Jim McLoughlin had suffered overheating in his new Capri. This left some big holes at the front of the grid and Tim Scott Andrews powered into the lead. Neil made a very good start but to no avail as the race was red flagged after a coming together between William Jenkins and the Rovers of Alan Roper and Nathan Turner.

Come the restart Tim went away for an easy win over Mark Fowler (Capri) and Steve Cripps (RS2000)

Neil was 6th in the Fiesta after battling with Andy Johnson and Ian Fowler in their Golf's.

Race 2

Tim Scott-Andrews didn't make such a good start in the second race and had to settle for third place for a few laps behind Mark Fowler (Capri) and Steve Cripps (Escort RS2000). It took a couple of laps for Tim to restore the status-quo and slowly pulled away to take the chequered flag eight and a half seconds ahead.

Neil had a race long dice with Andy Johnson and Ian Fowler in their Golf GTi's until Andy dropped back with throttle cable problems. Ian and Neil swapped places until Ian consolidated his lead to head the Fiesta home.

Page added 26 August 2010

Back Home Up Next